User Management Commands

These commands are run via the command line on the platform instance.

User Information #

List basic information about users and their status.

travis users - list every user.

travis users --active - list every active user.

travis users --suspended - list every suspended user.

Suspend and Unsuspend Users #

Suspend or unsuspend users. Builds triggered by suspended users are blocked by travis-gatekeeper.

travis suspend <login> - suspend a user where <login> is the user’s GitHub login.

travis unsuspend <login> - unsuspend a user where <login> is the user’s GitHub login.

Please note: Using the suspend command does not restrict access to the Enterprise platform. It removes a seat restriction for an archived user. If a suspended user logs into the platform, the seat restriction would be imposed once more.

Difference between Active, Inactive, and Suspended Users #

  • Active User: User with a GitHub OAuth token and not marked as suspended.
  • Inactive User: User without a GitHub OAuth token and not marked as suspended.
  • Suspended User: User marked as suspended having a GitHub OAuth token or not.

Syncing a User #

To sync a user (not technically part of User Management, but a related task):

To sync one user: travis sync_users --logins=<login> To sync all users: travis sync_users